2D views in a 3D world…part 1

I will have to make this quick since my son will be taking over my computer in about twelve minutes. So imagine I am writing this with one of those MacGyver style bombs ticking down to world destruction. Also this may not be as free of errors as I would like because this is going out straight off the cuff.

Anyway, the point of this post is that I had an interesting thought while waiting for my coffee to drip into the cup. I blame my current school classes and my new job for this one. I even left my coffee on the counter, but the ticking clock says I don’t have enough time to go get it.

Why do we always see people as two dimensional? I mean you can talk to someone everyday and many people will just see that person they say hi to at work. You might know their name. You might know if they have kids or if they are new to the job, but really that just colors in the outline a little.

Yesterday at work I had a gentleman call needing my assistance in a repair. He was well spoken but admitted English wasn’t his first language so that there may be some difficulty. I asked what his first language was and he answered Japanese.

I speak a little Japanese. I wouldn’t say I know it well enough to properly communicate but if I were magically transported to Tokyo right now; I know enough to find the bathroom, order food, find the American Embassy (wouldn’t that be interesting to explain), or ask directions.

I was able to greet the gentleman in Japanese and explain (also in Japanese) that I could understand a little. The call ended with us both saying goodbye and thank you in his native tongue and me grinning like an idiot.

Japanese is something I try to learn on my own as fun. (I do have Rosetta Stone) It is rare that I get to actually use it. It made me feel great to be able make it a useful skill. I had to tell someone, so I turned to my coworkers and told them I just got to speak to someone in Japanese.

I am the new chick. They don’t know much about me yet, but they were all shocked. I don’t know why though…..

Crap, time has expired and the bomb has blown. Time to take care of collateral damage. (It’s blonde, four feet tall and glaring at me) 2D views in a 3D world.

Leave a Reply

