Goodbye, Hello

This is the last day of Libertycon 29. As I sit here with the rolling wave of voices rising and falling around me, I am already longing for next year. My life has gone through some changes recently and the comfort of this convention has wrapped around me like a familiar blanket fresh from the dryer.

It may seem odd to feel so at home in this sea of people, especially since crowds are something I try to avoid. However, these aren’t just people. They are my people. My clan. My tribe. Family separated by time, distance, and blood but not in spirit.

I don’t even know a great many of the people here. Yet I am at peace because all around me are readers, writers, and artists. Here my quirks are understood and sometimes even applauded.

It has been a much-needed reprieve. Tomorrow I start a new job. In August I start back to school. With all the new beginnings and the uncertain footing seeing friends and those who feel like family before embarking on these journeys gives me the support and the courage to keep taking steps forward.

Leave a Reply

