Blue Skies and Green Leaves

IMG_20160424_130541480I am currently in my front yard stretched out in a hammock. It is strung between a branchy Bradford Pear tree and a tall straight Walnut. Part of me doesn’t trust the ropes or the knots that keep it in place, so I tense whenever my movement sends it swinging. I am too comfortable to find a safer lounging spot though.

It is a sunny day with a stereotypical clear blue sky. My view of it is in bare patches between leaves. A moment ago a bird flew over my head, so quick it seemed only a shadow but so close I could hear the beat of its wings. A moment before that I watch a tiny lady bug crawl all over the leaves on the branch above my head. I’m not sure what the lady bug was searching for but she checked both sides of the leaves before flying away.

A boy just rode by on his bike. The wheels or the gears buzzed as he passed but didn’t disturb the birds and the squirrel looking for snacks in the grass.IMG_20160424_133737566

This is one of those peaceful moments I wish I could bottle up and save for later. It would take a special magic sort of a bottle to capture it all. A bottle that could hold the smell of the earth and the trees, the feel of the wind, the sighing to the branches and the happy songs of the birds, and the view of the blue sky through green branches. Since I don’t have such a magic bottle, I will have to make do with the memory, a few written words, and a picture.

Leave a Reply

