Making Good Memories

I have a great many things I could write about this week. Life isn’t always as easy as we would like. In fact sometimes it feels like walking barefoot down a very pebbly road.

However, I am not going to complain or write anything negative today. Instead I am going to write about the bit of fun I had this weekend. Because sometimes we need to remember the good rather than dwell on our difficulties.

As Samwise Gamgee said to Frodo Baggins when they were traveling through Mordor and Frodo asked what they were holding on to: “That there’s some good in the world, Mr. Frodo and it is worth fighting for.”

This weekend I took my daughter and her friend to ConNooga. We only went Saturday but had a lot of fun. Ramune and pocky provided the girls with enough energy to march around the dealer’s room at least a dozen times. However, it was not enough to keep my daughter from dozing off at a panel when they finally sat down.

I acquired several new books, some from authors new to me and some from well admired favorites. You will probably read more about those later. (If you have never read the Thief Taker books you should seriously check them out. It is rare for me to enjoy something so thoroughly. There are often bits of things I like about a book, but coming away with that completely satisfied feeling of a good book well read is hard to come by.)

The girls got their picture taken in front of the Scooby Doo Mystery Machine and inside the TARDIS. I had my own pic snapped while sitting in a chair of bones. A bit macabre maybe, but I think it is a rather nice picture. We ate lunch at a deli and watched the world pass by outside the wall length windows. Other costumed con goers entered and exited as we sat and there was the comforting murmur of a discussion on table top role playing games going on behind us.

We left ConNooga foot sore, much poorer than when we entered, but content. It was a good way to spend a Saturday.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Making Good Memories

Leave a Reply

