Libertycon Sunday

Libertycon is slowing down and in a few more hours I’ll be saying goodbye to friends I won’t see for another year. Right now however, I am stilling in a room with NASA scientists sitting one table over. There are authors and fans sitting side by side at yet another table and Todd McCaffrey is standing in the far corner chatting. Though I have found my own quiet corner to observe from, I still feel as if I am sitting in a sort of creative think tank.

There are many stories being told right now and so many ideas being shared. Not all of these people even know each other. Yet here for this one weekend we are all friends or extended family. It is okay to go up and ask directions from Steve Jackson. There are no pedestals here, only amazing people sharing ideas and giving others a chance to meet their heros and realize that they are human. I love this. If only it was this easy to share thoughts in the regular world. I think we might even have fewer problems if people could only come together with a feel similar to this convention. The con isn’t even over and I am already bringing to miss it.

Leave a Reply

