Running in place

catnapIt feels as if sleep is a luxury, one I decadently wallow in when I can get it. However, too often it is beyond my reach. There is always something else that needs to be done so sleep gets pushed to the back burner. Thanks to my wonderful, loving mother, I was able to sleep hours and hours yesterday. She stayed over an extra day to take care of the kids so I could sleep.

It is morning now and that means lunches to pack, kids to wake, and cats to feed. Once the kids are at school, I have a porch to paint and a garden to plant. There is laundry to do, there is always laundry to do, and kids to pick up from school.

Then there will be homework to help with and dinner to start. Life never stops and rarely slows down. If I am not kept busy at home there is always work waiting at my night job. And lets not forget writing. That gets squeezed in too, usually in the mornings over a cup of coffee or tea.

Writing is the thing I want to do. The rest all has to be done. It is a hard juggling act.

When snoopyI get time to write I need to take greater advantage of that time and make the most of it. With my recent book of short stories available for sale and a new short story in the final editing, I feel like I am making progress on this crazy dream. I just need to get a few more of those works in progress into the completed file.

2 thoughts on “Running in place

    1. Thank you. I try to enjoy life but sometimes get caught up in things and forget. Last night I took a barefoot walk in the back yard. I looked at the strawberries blooming and enjoyed the feel of grass between my toes. I reminded myself of the little pleasures that make the big problems seem insignificant.

Leave a Reply

