The last day of 2014 and the first breath of a New Year.

I didn’t sleep the last twenty four hours of 2014. I did work half of it though. I also wrote one new short story and plotted another. All considered, it wasn’t really a bad way to spend the last day of the year.  My kids came home from their dad’s house and we sat on the couch together this afternoon watching Myth Busters.  At 15 minutes until midnight we changed the channel so we could watch the ball drop in Time’s Square and witness the birth of 2015.

Now we are taking our first steps into the New Year. Well, not physical steps. The kids and I are chowing down on pizza and watching cartoons. I guess that is not the healthiest start but we are all together. I hope being close with my kids and sharing moments is something that continues throughout the year.

I can’t predict how this year will go but I do hope to spend my time more wisely. I hope to not be as wasteful with my minutes and hours. I hope to laugh and share joys. I hope tears are short lived unless they are from happiness.

*Raises Glass*

Here is to a brand New Year, may we reach worthy goals and share our happiness so that it is multiplied among those we hold dear.

happy new year

4 thoughts on “The last day of 2014 and the first breath of a New Year.

  1. What a great way to bring in the new year! Your children will remember it. And it sounds as if your writing was productive also. “First breath of a new year’-I like the way you put it. All the best to you in 2015!

Leave a Reply

