Why am I awake?

I am sitting on my couch with a warm cup of tea to my left and a cat taking up most of my lap. The cat, Casper, is making it very difficult to type; but in typical cat fashion he is ignoring my problems and attempting to shove his head under the keyboard to keep the light out of his eyes.

My son is also asleep on the couch and he occasionally kicks me. This makes the task of writing even more interesting. Both kids have been down with the flu. They are starting to feel better now though.

I am not yet caffeinated and it is a quarter to five on a Sunday morning. I should be asleep but my face hurts. My sinus are acting up. I took medicine but it has yet to kick in.

So why am I posting here on this dark cold early morning? Heck if I know. I sat down and needed to write and this is where I ended up. Maybe it is guilt for missing last Monday.

I’ve been having one of those “I am an awful writer” moods, where I want to give the whole thing up, toss in the towel, and let the writing ship sail off without me.  I have these from time to time. I doubt I’ll actually “give up” but I am depressed about it. Eventually, I will give myself a swift kick in the pants and get back to work. Hopefully it will be sooner rather than later.

Leave a Reply

