Christmas Cards for Addie

Scanning through my facebook timeline this morning I came across a heartbreaking story about a six year old girl from Utah. I won’t get into the details. I leave the link here for that, but this little girl is living her last year on this mundane world of ours. The doctors can do nothing for her.

She has two older sisters and a mother who will soon be grieving her loss even as they try to celebrate what time she has left. (The little girls also recently lost their father.) And what do they ask for during this time that has to be more difficult than anything I can imagine?

Christmas Cards. They just want Christmas Cards.

They want the world to know that this little girl, for a brief time, lived among us and touched lives. Today, my kids and I will sit at the dining room table and each of us create a special card to send to this family, to let them know we see Addie, and to let them know that they are not alone. Words on paper in colored hues to replace the hug that cannot reach from here. I invite everyone who reads this to do the same.

One thought on “Christmas Cards for Addie

Leave a Reply

