Monday Calls

So I missed a post last Monday. I did notice, after the fact. My work week always has me losing track of days. I think that is why they put the date on the phones at work and hang calenders all over the place.

I have lost count of how many times I have glanced at the phone display and realized that either I have time traveled or it wasn’t the day I thought it was. The calenders are there for a second reference.  Once we realize the date we have to check to make sure which day of the week it is. I have gone from phone to calender, then turned to my co-worker to announce “It’s Tuesday!”  on multiple occasions.

Sometimes this is met with a “Well, yeah.” And sometimes it is met with a “It is?!”

But today, today I am not at work. (At least not the money paying one.) Today is most definitely Monday. I didn’t even have to check the phone or calender. I could hear Monday in the chirp of the alarm clock and the desire to stay huddled in my blankets.

Monday was in the way my kids trudged to the bathroom and ate breakfast with half opened eyes. Monday was the fog hanging thick in the air as if the world itself wasn’t ready to be awake. Monday was evident in the slow drivers and the coffee commercials on the radio. (Coffee commercials are always on the radio but today they all sounded so much more appealing.)

Monday is in the phone call I just received from my son while writing this post. He forgot his glasses and I need to bring them to him, so this post will have to be cut short. Monday Calls.

Leave a Reply

