Broken Ankles and Writing

Stress_FractureMy son has a hairline fracture on his ankle. We think. Apparently it is really hard to tell with kids because their bones are still growing. We have to wait until the injury begins to heal to find out if there is actually a crack. There will be calcium deposits along where the fracture is healing.

I am not sure what they intend to do once they verify his ankle is indeed broken, but right now we have it in an air cast. He takes ibuprofen and Tylenol for the pain and my dad made him a cane to help him hobble around. Funny thing is though, the pain in his ankle seemed to grow on the way to school this morning.

Don’t get me wrong. I am positive he is in some pain. The thing aches even when he isn’t using it. However, the whimpering coming from my back seat was no where in sight until we left the house. He managed to limp to the bathroom and his bedroom without much complaint, but the closer we got to school the more it seemed to hurt.

It’s Monday. I understand. I didn’t really want to get up this morning either. With the help of the principal I got him out of the car and on his way though.  Then I began to think.

I thought about my son and his aching ankle and came to the conclusion it is a little like writing and writing time. You set aside time to write, but the closer and closer it gets to that time you have more and more things to do, or maybe you find more and more excuses not to sit down.

I’m just not feeling it today. I’ve got writer’s block. My hands/back hurts. I really should get to that laundry/dishes/vacuum. 

Sound familiar? I do it too. Writing can be hard. Often we want to just wait until it motivator312687f0669fbfe47c2a3fe4249375fe980cc139becomes easier. We put it off because it is difficult. The problem with that is, you aren’t going to get better and it isn’t going to come easier unless you do it.

You just have to put your butt in the chair and write. Use duct tape if you have to.

*sound of tape ripping*  Someone remind me to pick up a new roll.

Leave a Reply

