Scrambled eggs for brains

I missed posting on Monday. I noticed yesterday. My brain has been so scrambled lately that a plate of cheese eggs looks more put together. The reasons are the same as always. Work, kids, and writing.

My son’s birthday is Saturday. He is turning double digits. I remembered on Wednesday to order his cake. Usually that is the first thing I take care of. I could make the thing myself but while edible, it wouldn’t look as cool. Also I tend to freak out at the last minute for things involving a crowd of people. It is better to let professionals bake the cake.

I did manage to buy a present and invite people. The wonders of social media and online shopping made that easier, considering most stores are closing around the time I am heading to work and many of them have yet to open by the time I get out. I haven’t wrapped his present yet, but I did get one. (I tried to bribe my daughter into wrapping it for me but she declined.)

I have no idea who will actually show up for his party. I know his aunt is going to try and that his dad, step-mom, and baby sister will be there. My brother and sister-in-law are on vacation, so they will not be attending. I am hoping my friend Lacey will show up with her kids if they aren’t too busy.

Lacey has been my best friend since middle school. We talk to each other off an on through out the year. Sometimes it can be as little as once a year, but we always pick up right wherever we left off. Neither of us are surprised whenever the other shows up.

After not seeing a person for a few years and then you both go to the exact same place at the exact same time for vacation…well that kind of puts an end to the feeling of surprise at seeing one another in random places. (It wasn’t even a well known spot. I hadn’t even planned to go until someone gave me free tickets, and then there we were, her kids lined up next to mine watching animal handlers feed dead chicken to alligators.)

Anyway, I will try to get a proper post out this Monday. Sorry for the miss.

Leave a Reply

