Balloons, Panels, and Books

panel2My Saturday at LibertyCon is winding down I can’t help but be satisfied. I got the chance to meet and talk to some talented writers, I bought a ton of books, and got a few new short story ideas sketched out.  Most recently I went to the book release party for Deadly Curiosities by Gail Z. Martin.

Truthfully, I had not heard of Gail Z. Martin before this convention.  I am incredibly glad I’ve been introduced to her now and I very much look forward to reading her new book.  It sounds like it is really going to be a good one. (It’s urban fantasy just in case anyone was wondering.)  She has some short stories in the same setting. (And quite a few other books as well.)

I got some good tips on writing from Louise Herring-Jones and Gail.  There were suggestions that I reverse plot my space opera and maybe take a look at my point of view. I think that maybe just what I need in order to straighten out some of the problems.

Earlier today I went to some great panels and listened to Scott W. Baker, Timothy Zahn, panelLouise Herring-Jones, Gail Z. Martin, Dan Hoyt, Travis Taylor, John Ringo, and many others. I have books signed by Sarah A. Hoyt, Jason Cordova, Eric S. Brown, and D.B. Jackson.

This has been a great convention and just what I needed. It has been a learning experience, a mini vacation, and a sort of family reunion all rolled into one.  Or rather, a Friendly reunion.  I’ve seen friends I usually only see once a year like Ray, Stephanie Osborn, Dan and Lindsey Hollifield, and Scott W. Baker.

doc osbornDaryl “Doc” Osborn also made me a “subtle” balloon hat when we watched his Balloons of Doom act.  Bright orange, red, pink and yellow; it is almost as tall as I am with a red heart perched at the top. I had to bend it over to enter and exit buildings and the elevator had me worried.  He also turned one of the hotel golf carts into a bat mobile using balloons.

LibertyCon 27 has been awesome but now it is after midnight and I need to sleep. Good night.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Balloons, Panels, and Books

Leave a Reply

