Braaaaains

There are days when I wake up, get out of bed, and leave my brain laying on the pillow.  I stumble to the bathroom and then to the kitchen, following the siren song of coffee like a zombie after living flesh.  Once my cup is full of warm caffeine I shuffle off to sit at my computer.

It’s routine.  I can do it without my brain. The movements are automatic. Which is good because otherwise I would never get any writing done.  Eventually my brain wakes up and joins me…or not.  Sometimes the lazy glob of cells and electrical impulses calls out on me and refuses to work.  The writing still gets done some how. It’s not always good writing, but one word does get put down after the other.

Writing this post right now is kind of my version of poking my brain with a stick, trying to wake it up.  So far I’ve got a few mumbled “go aways” and a yawn.

Leave a Reply

