Reading

iwdayala0240cI love to read.  I read a little of just about everything.  One reason I like to read is because I grew up with parents who liked to read.  My mom read to me when I was little.  My dad constantly had books and science fiction magazines laying around.

Another reason is because of a show called Reading Rainbow.  It was amazing.  As a kid I was introduced to a much wider variety of books than just the ones at home. Science, science fiction, mechanics, fantasy, fairy tales and mystery novels are awesome but there was a whole…well, Rainbow of topics that were not readily available at home.  (My parents were never big on the classics for example.)

reading rainbowI would have missed out on so many wonderful stories if not for Reading Rainbow. And now there is a kick starter to bring this story strong resource to more kids.  True it seems mostly to be an online thing,  but so many kids have internet access today that this is probably the best way to reach the most kids.  It will also be available in classrooms and free to those schools that could not otherwise afford it.

Reading Rainbow still has the magic to encourage kids to read. While I was watching this kick starter video my son was playing loudly in the other room.  As soon as the music started he went quiet and was stand next to me seconds later.  The gift of books and knowledge of the written word is a powerful thing.  With it, you truly can “go anywhere”.

2 thoughts on “Reading

  1. I don’t remember my parents reading books per say, but they read the newspaper every day and they encouraged us to read. My mom worked in an elementary school so she used to bring books home from work for us to read when we were kids. My dad was so proud of his encyclopedia set he had bought and though I don’t remember him reading them, my brother and I used to pull them out and read them periodically. I also remember having National Geographic magazines on the shelves (more the pictures than the articles), Dr. Seuss, Little Golden Books and lots of trips to the library, which I still love to take!

    Let’s hope the Reading Rainbow makes it’s way into all of those schools and continues to inspire children to read. It’s a great program!

  2. We had National Geographic magazines too. I had forgotten about them. I think they were my grandfather’s and he sent them home with us when we went to visit him. I remember he used to have tons of maps from all over the world that he got from them. I used to think they were the most amazing thing in the world. He gave me some once and I taped them all over the walls of my room.

Leave a Reply

