Seriously?!

facepalm kittenThis isn’t the post I said was coming on Monday.  I still owe that one.  However, I just found out about some Stupid and had to comment.  Now this information is several days old.  I tend to miss a turn of the jump rope when I work.   But I was just reading a new post over at Comet Tales by Stephanie Osborn and it had me face palming at the audacity of some people.  (This is a rant expressing my opinion.)

There is an article over at Huffpost entitled “If J.K. Rowling Cares About Writing, She Should Stop Doing It”.  I am not linking to it. If you want to read it, it is easy enough to find.  The Dumb should not be available from my blog, unless it is something I write dumb5myself.   I did go check out the article after finding out about it, just to see if it was really that bad.  It is.

I didn’t even have to make it very far before coming to this conclusion.  The second sentence in the second paragraph, in reference to the Harry Potter books, is:  ” I did think it a shame that adults were reading them (rather than just reading them to their children, which is another thing altogether), mainly because there’s so many other books out there that are surely more stimulating for grown-up minds.

Open book magic on blackI am a fan of the Harry Potter books.  I’ve read them all and thought they were fantastic. (I have only seen a couple of the movies though.)   However, you could loath Harry Potter and still take offense at that sentence.  Exactly what is the shame in an adult reading a children’s book?  What is the problem with an adult enjoying a children’s book?   I don’t understand this.  I read them all the time.   I LOVE Diana Wynne Jones.  I adore C.S. Lewis, Neil Gaiman, Madeleine L’Engle, Ronald Dahl, Lewis Carroll, Susan Cooper, and Lloyd Alexander.  There are many many more wonderful authors I could name as well.

“You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if the book will be too difficult smart kidfor grown-ups, then you write it for children.”   -Madeleine L’Engle

“I don’t write for children. I write. And somebody says, that’s for children.” -Maurice Sendak

tumblr_m490bucc8P1r2taqzo1_500“Fantasy is hardly an escape from reality. It’s a way of understanding it.” – Lloyd Aleander

Some people seem to think that just because a story is written for children, or children enjoy it then, it must be too simple for alice22adults.  I feel sorry for these people.  They must miss so much in life.

The rest of the article goes on to complain about how J.K Rowling is now writing for adults and whines about her selling so many books.  The fact that J.K. Rowling is a well selling author and that her fans like to purchase her books  some how seems to preventing people from buying books from other authors.

…I guess that makes sense in a world where it is shameful for an adult to read a book that resides on a child’s book shelf.   It doesn’t  make much sense to me, but hey, I read children’s books so what do I know?

If you want to read what some other writers think about this same article I offer the following:

http://accordingtohoyt.com/2014/02/24/you-are-not-entitled-a-guest-post-by-amanda-green/

http://madgeniusclub.com/2014/02/25/balph-eubank-lives/

http://stephanie-osborn.blogspot.com/2014/02/on-jk-rowling-and-books.html

 

“I don’t write for children. I write. And somebody says, that’s for children.”
Maurice Sendak – See more at: http://www.relevantchildrensministry.com/2013/09/15-quotes-about-writing-for-children.html#sthash.mg9aeeYB.dpuf
“I don’t write for children. I write. And somebody says, that’s for children.”
Maurice Sendak – See more at: http://www.relevantchildrensministry.com/2013/09/15-quotes-about-writing-for-children.html#sthash.mg9aeeYB.dpuf
“I don’t write for children. I write. And somebody says, that’s for children.”
Maurice Sendak – See more at: http://www.relevantchildrensministry.com/2013/09/15-quotes-about-writing-for-children.html#sthash.mg9aeeYB.dpuf

 

 

3 thoughts on “Seriously?!

Leave a Reply

