A bit about self-publishing

Chuck Wendig makes some good points about self-publishing and what writers need to bring to the table.  The long and short of it is, your best. Always your best.

http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2014/01/27/self-publishing-is-not-the-minor-leagues/

As a writer, and one who does intend to self publish, (I actually plan to do both) it is homer nowsometimes very hard to be patient with my work.  I want it done.  I don’t want to have to rewrite that scene or find someone else to read over what I just fixed.  I don’t want to cut out bits that don’t fit or delete entire characters to make the story flow better.  I want to write it and I want it to be done.  Then I want to share it.  I want people to buy it and tell me I am a genius.

6a00d8341c630a53ef013488af5745970c-800wiThings don’t work that way though.  Writing is work.  You have to work at it. You have to make it the best you can otherwise you are cheating your readers.  If readers feel cheated they aren’t going to buy anything else from you.  Which means you’ve cheated yourself too.

Doing that rewrite that you know the book needs is important.  So are the beta readers and the Grammar Nazis.  It takes time. Waiting is not fun but quality takes time.  Only you know how much time is needed and each project can be different.  Don’t rush the book.  Let it develop how it is supposed to.

But don’t use editing as a stalling tactic.   Once the book is done, its done and has to be Book_Flyingkicked out of the nest.  The important thing is to make sure the wings are strong enough to support it before you give it the boot.

Leave a Reply

