Leibster Award

liebster-blog-award-2

Last week I was nominated for the Leibster Award by Random Acts of Writing

(Her blog is really awesome!  Being nominated by such a good writer feels better than the blog award.)

It was great timing.  I had just received another rejection email and right below it was the nomination.  Talk about being cheered up! 😀

I am hoping that there wasn’t a time limit on answering. It’s been a few days. I saw the email just before work and this is the first time since then that I have had brain cells to spare.

So Award stuff:

1. Each nominee must link back the person who nominated them.
2. Answer the 10 questions which are given to you by the nominator.
3. Nominate 10 other bloggers for this award who have less than 200 followers.
4. Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
5. Let the nominees know that they have been nominated by going to their blog and notifying them.

Questions for me:

1) What got you interested in blogging?

I started blogging mostly because I needed a way to get all of the random stuff swirling around in my head organized so I could concentrate on my regular writing.  It also provides an outlet for my thoughts on writing.  And it’s better than just talking to myself. 😉

2) Who is your favorite author or book series?

Oh dear. I am not sure that I can answer this one. I don’t think I have a number one, absolute favorite.  However, I do love Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, Diana Wynn Jones, Kevin J. Anderson, J.R.R. Tolkien, Mercedes Lackey, Simon R. Green…the list just keeps going.  The Bedlam Bard Series by Mercedes Lackey is one of my favorites and I am currently sharing Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynn Jones, with my children. I have read it so many times that I can practically recite it.

3) What is your most prized possession?  Why?  I am going to assume this means a physical object.  I would have to say my computer followed by my mountain dulcimer.  My computer because that is what I write on and where my stories are stored. (Though I do back them up elsewhere.)  And my dulcimer because I love music and really do have plans of learning to play it properly one day.  (My cousin, the family genius, made it for me.)

4) What is your favorite quote?

“I like nonsense. It wakes up the brain cells. Fantasy is a necessary ingredient in living. It’s a way of looking at life through the wrong end of a telescope.”
Dr. Suess

5) What is the best blog post you have ever written?

The next one.  I’ve not written the best yet.  I am still learning and still growing as writer. So the best will always be before me.

6) What is the best blog post you have ever read?  Why?

This is another hard one.  I’ve read many posts that have touched me in some way or taught me something or even just made me think.

7) If you could meet anyone, who would it be? (This can be real or fictional, dead or alive)

The Doctor from Doctor Who.  Then I could meet a lot of other people throughout time and space.

8) What single quality do you most appreciate in others?

Open minds.

9)Describe yourself in three words:

a) dreamer

b) writer

c)mother

And I Nominate:

Scott W. Baker: Chaos out of Chaos

Scott is a talented writer. (If he wasn’t I wouldn’t have bought his book. Twice. lol)  He’s been on the bench for a short time, but he is getting back into the game. I encourage short story lovers to check out Baker’s Dozen on Amazon.

THE COASTAL CRONE

I always seem to find a spark of inspiration when I read her posts.

Rachel Writes A Book

Lisa M. Collins

Sometimes reading the struggles of other writers helps me realize I am not alone.  In a weird way, it is kind of  like meeting family that you never knew existed.

Comet Tales

Stephanie Osborn is just an all around amazing lady and a talented author.  I don’t know how many followers her blog has so it may not fit within the rules.  However, if I am going to nominate people for blog awards and recommend blogs to read this one has to be on the list. 🙂

Aaron Paul Lazar

This is another one where the rules may not fit. I am just not familiar enough with blogspot, so I don’t know how many followers Aaron’s blog has. His blog and his books are without a doubt worth a read though.

That is only half a dozen instead of the ten the rules suggest, but if Random Acts of Writing  can bend the rules then so can I. 🙂   (She has already been nominated or I would have had seven.)

Questions:

1.  Why do you write?

2. Who or what do you like to read?

3. What gives you inspiration?

4. What is one thing you would like someone who reads your blog to know about you?

5. What is your favorite color?  (Seriously.)

6.  What is the air-speed velocity of an unladen swallow?  (You can use your imagination, offer the standard quote, or just smile.)

7. Do you like your given name, and if not what would you change it to?

8. What is the dumbest or least favorite question someone has ever asked you?  (You can’t say #6. Unless that’s true.)

9. If you could go anywhere in the world, where would it be?

10. What is your favorite cartoon character?

Okay, so my questions aren’t the deepest but I think some of them are fun and I like it when people smile.

4 thoughts on “Leibster Award

Leave a Reply

