I’m Back

white rabbit 2I’m a little late. We are well into the first week of December, and I said I would only be gone for the rest of November, but  I have been struggling with writing lately.  I don’t know if it is post NaNoWriMo depression or what, but putting words down has been difficult.  Even a facebook status update or a tweet seems to take too much effort.

I did not win NaNoWriMo this year.  I only made it to around 43,000 words.  I could nanohave won. I could have forced myself to spew forth those other 7,000 words. But I didn’t.

bobross  You see, I really like the story I wrote this year. I got all the wide sketch strokes down. It has a beginning, a middle, and an end.  But it deserves more time.

I like this one enough that I refused to force it. Sounds like an excuse right?  Maybe it is and maybe it’s not.

Last year I really liked my story too but I forced it and…well it’s not quite right. Therebox are bits missing that didn’t get time to develop and I am not sure it can be made better. Time will tell with that one. It currently gets to live in that box under my bed.  Maybe one day I will take it out and rebuild it, who knows.

I did not want that to happen to this story.  So for the first time in four years, I did not win NaNoWriMo.  In a sense I threw the fight.  But in doing so I may have saved the life of this book.  At least that is what I am hoping anyway.

Leave a Reply

