Good Weekends

snoopyI would just like to say that if this post reads like it was written by a drooling two fingered alien, with only a tenth of the mental capacity of the average human…well that’s not too far off.  At least that’s how I feel this morning.  I have a hot cup of coffee sitting here.  I am waiting for it to cool enough for me to drink it.  (It’s instant.  I couldn’t wait long enough for the real stuff.)

Anyway, now that I have the disclaimer out of the way, I had a great weekend.  The kids were out of school all last week for Fall Break, but I had to work until Wednesday so I didn’t get to spend as much time with them as I would have liked.  Wednesday and Thursday are kind of a blur for me because I was still adjusting back to being awake during the day.  Friday afternoon we went to the library, came home, ate dinner, read a book, and went to bed.

Then Saturday dawned.  My cousin, who is something between a craftsman and a mad scientist, had a booth at a tractor show in the next town over.  I had never been to a tractortractors show so we decided to check it out.  I even donned overalls for the occasion, much to the embarrassment of the kids.  (Picking on my kids is one of main reason I own overalls to begin with.  I am a terrible gardener, I don’t own any live stock, and I rarely work on cars.  Even when I do, it is more of handing my brother the appropriate wrench type of thing.  I do love all of the pockets in overalls though.)

My daughter’s best friend came along and we had good time viewing tractors, petting cows, and climbing on trailers for hay rides.  My daughter’s friend decided to spend the night, so I took all three kids hojack o lanternme to carve pumpkins and roast hot dogs.  The girls stayed outside well after dark and only came in near bed time.

Sunday morning we drug ourselves out of bed for the country fair at Prater’s Mill.  It was a lot like the tractor show but with more booths, less tractors, and more clog dancers.  There were canoes to paddle as well, but with three kids I decided I didn’t want to chance it.  (I know my two are good swimmers but I wasn’t sure about the blacksmithother girl.)  We ate barbeque sandwiches, got faces painted, bought random trinkets and learned about blacksmithing, spinning and weaving wool, and carving wooden bowls.   (We also came home with sunburns, because it is the middle of October and I didn’t think about sunscreen.)

I met some interesting people and decided I really need to invest in a digital recorder.  (Many writers have them to record ideas or to keep notes.)  Murray County Paranormal Investigations had a booth near the face painters.   So while waiting on the kids to be ghost giggleturned into dragons, I introduced myself and had a pleasant conversation. If I had carried a digital recorder with me then I could have interviewed them for my blog.  They were kind enough to answer my questions and informed me that they do ghost tours.

Now I am the first to admit that I am a coward. I do believe there is more out there that what can be seen with the human eye.  I also firmly believe that if whatever it is will stay away from me, then I will stay away from it.

That being said, they are doing a ghost tour this coming Saturday at the Historic Wright wright hotelHotel in Chatsworth, Georgia.  This would not be too far of a drive for me and they said if I come they would be happy to do an interview before the tour.  I would find it tempting except I have to work Saturday.  I may try to go anyway depending on what time it starts.

Another fascinating person I met at the country fair, was an artist by the name of Roland J Rankin.  I fell in love with his paintings.  They were amazing.  You could almost mistake them for photographs.

roland j rankinI spoke with Mr. Rankin for a little while and exchanged contact information.  After I told him I was a writer, he smiled at me and told me to “keep at it” and to not give up.  Words from an almost stranger, but they hit me hard.  I think it was because of the fact that I don’t really know him that the words meant a lot to me.  It’s funny how encouragement comes to us sometimes.

Before I left his booth, he gifted me with some note card prints with some of his work on the front.  I intend to frame and hang them on the wall where I can see them while I write.  roald-dahl-inspiration-quote-motivation-life-advice-believe-in-magic-glittering-eyes-childrens-author-writer

Leave a Reply

