Heinlein’s Rules For Writers and other things I learned at LibertyCon

This weekend I attended LibertyCon in Chattanooga, TN for the second year in a row.  I enjoyed it just as thoroughly this time as I did last year and learned even more.  As writers we often spend a lot of time on our own, even if it is just inside our heads.

Insecurities creep up on us because of the solitary nature of our craft.  It is nice to get out there and find other people who experience the same joys and the same set backs.  It is wonderful to know that you are not alone and not the only one facing certain problems.  And when you find those other like you, then realize they have found a few solutions to the problems you’ve been struggling with… well it’s enough to start the angels singing.

This is the reason so many professionals encourage writers to join or form writing groups.  Alcoholics have AAA, writers have writing groups.  They both serve the same purpose.  To offer support.

This is just the first post on my con experience this year. I will post again, preferably after I manage to get several uninterrupted hours of sleep.  It astounds me how often I learn something that is new to me but seems to be common knowledge to many others.  I believe Heinlein’s Rules For Writing falls into that category.  My thanks goes to authors Kevin J. Anderson and Rebecca Moesta for enlightening me.

1

Rule One: You Must Write

Rule Two: Finish What Your Start

2

Rule Three: You Must Refrain From Rewriting, Except to Editorial Order3

Rule Four: You Must Put Your Story on the Market4

Rule Five: You Must Keep it on the Market until it has Sold 5

2 thoughts on “Heinlein’s Rules For Writers and other things I learned at LibertyCon

  1. Yes, I needed these reminders! You have inspired me again. Thanks for stopping by to like one of my posts as I have not been posting or reading blogs lately but am trying to get back to something normal…oh, well…who wants to be normal? Thanks and have a safe July 4.

Leave a Reply

