4 A.M.

Little-dreamer-daydreaming-30420185-500-375My mind takes odd turns after two a.m.  I don’t know why.  I don’t know what is special about those predawn hours where the new day hasn’t really taken its first breath yet and the night is still gasping along like a runner in a marathon.  Maybe it’s the quiet of a darkened house, knowing that others slumber while I sit here awake.

I’ve read blogs, caught up on things I wasn’t able to do during the daylight hours, and jotted down notes for future projects.  Right now I feel as if I am supposed to be writing something. It’s right there on the tip of my brain and my muse is looking at me expectantly waiting for me to notice what she has given me.  Yet the epiphany hasn’t come.  Maybe it isn’t done forming yet.

There is also a tiny bit of fear that I won’t recognize whatever it is and it will die stillborn and all the promises it could fulfill with it.  Thoughts sift so slowly through my mind and I watch them like a slow moving stream.  Then before I know it they’re gone, swept away by a gentle current. I am mesmerized or I could catch them as they drift past.DREAMER-oscar-wilde-32227000-2048-1360

I am probably not making a lot of sense right now, but as I said…my mind takes odd turns sometimes…

 

2 thoughts on “4 A.M.

  1. Sometimes I will try to write in my head when I wake up after 2 a.m. Some call it the wolf’s hour. Perhaps it is just your muse awakening you – you did get a lovely post out of it though. Thanks for your recent like for one of my posts

Leave a Reply

