Burnt Toast

I slept in this morning.  It was wonderful.  I haven’t done it in a long time.  I awoke refreshed and content with life and decided it was a good day for cinnamon toast.   My daughter hates cinnamon, but she spent the night at a friend’s house so it was just me and my son this morning.  A perfect cinnamon toast day.

I thought I would even go the extra mile and make it in the oven…  The thing is I am easily distracted.  If I don’t set a timer then I will often forget about things in the oven.  This morning I forgot to set a timer.  I remembered about the time the smell of burned bread and cinnamon reached my nose.  So I grabbed an oven mitt and tossed the burned toast out of the kitchen door and discovered it is a beautiful morning.

The sun was still new in the sky and the grass is bright green and covered in purple clover flowers.  And best of all, it isn’t cold!  The air is a little cool but pleasantly so.  This means I can sit on my front porch and enjoy an nice cup of tea…and some cinnamon toast, only this time I am cheating and using the toaster.

Leave a Reply

