Sailor’s warning

“Red in the morning, Sailor’s warning,sunrise-66954_640 Red at night, Sailor’s delight.”

This rhyme is something I heard often growing up.  I can remember laying in the floor at my grandmother’s house, gazing out of the window at the darkening evening sky painted scarlet, and hearing my grandmother quote this old saying.   Variations of this saying are over 2000 years old.

This morning I stepped out onto my front porch and stopped to stare.  The trees in the distance were painted bright red by the birth of the sun. It hadn’t even crested the horizon yet, but the trees were bathed in it’s fire. This old rhyme came immediately to mind even though it wasn’t the sky that was coated in crimson.

black cat silLooking back, if I gave into superstition, I could call this an omen.  While we did not have storms of water and wind, I have had a tempest of bad luck all day.  It was a Murphy’s law type of day.  Everything from failed scheduling to financial hiccups afflicted me all day.

For example, some how my house payment for last month was lost in the mail and never reached its intended destination.  I some how failed to notice.  Usually once it has reached the post office I put it out of my mind and don’t think about it again until the next payment is due.  So it was an unpleasant shock to see that my February house payment was over due.   Things like that happened all day.  Stuff that I sheepthought was all taken care of, cropped up with sudden problems that kept me running all day and the things I had planned to take care of today had road blocks jump up to impede my progress.

I didn’t manage to get any writing done on my work in progress though I had high hopes for making head way on it today.  Maybe black-41201_640after the children go to bed I will get another chance.  If not, well then tomorrow is another day…it is also my birthday.  I had hoped to have the day completely off but I won’t complain at this point if I can just get a couple of uninterrupted, worry free writing hours in.

 

Leave a Reply

