Writing ramble

After my last post I decide to play around on line a little and maybe see if I could find a few clip-art-snoopy-535053tips on how to make the rewriting/editing process easier. (I started the 2nd or 3rd draft of my scifi novel recently. I’ve forgotten which draft I am on. I just know it isn’t done yet.)  A lot of what I do is trial and error right now. I am still trying to figure out what works for me.

The thing about writing and editing is that there is a lot of advice out there on how to do it and a lot of suggestions but not everything works for everybody.  You have to figure out how you work. However, I have found knowing how other people write and edit helps give me ideas and things to try.  Sometimes they work sometimes they don’t.

snoopyFor example outlining does not work for me.  I can scribble down a general idea of what I think should happen or the basic idea I have for the book but that is about it.  If I go more in depth than I eventually toss the book in the trash in frustration.  Also I rarely know the ending before I start.  I know people who can’t even start writing if they don’t know how it is going to end and I know people who have to have step by step outlines for each story they attempt.  I know a wonderful writer who struggles with fear of endings. Her books are amazing but she can’t stop writing them so they keep going…and going.  She is currently working on different strategies to help her over come this.

The point is not everything works for everybody.

Anyway, as I was saying before I got side tracked, I was looking for tips and I came across an interesting article published in Forbes back in August of last year about publishing and the rise in indie published books.   http://www.forbes.com/sites/davidvinjamuri/2012/08/15/publishing-is-broken-were-drowning-in-indie-books-and-thats-a-good-thing/

 

Leave a Reply

