Writing Random

snoopyIt seems like I haven’t written anything “useful” here in a while.  Mostly my blog post tend to be random and about whatever is on my mind at the time.  There is actually a reason for that.  I sometimes (Okay a lot of the time) use this blog as a free writing, where I get all the jumble of stuff running around in my head down in print.  Then, when I am done, I can get to work writing on the stuff I am supposed to be working on.

Often when I sit down to write I get in my own way.   I stare at the blank screen and think: this is hard, I don’t feel good, I don’t wanna write this scene, I don’t know what happens next, I don’t wanna think….ect.  In short, I can be pretty whiny.  This is why I typically iwdayala0240chave a notebook or a journal to write in as well.  I whine in it for a little while and then I feel better and can get to work.  Unfortunately, my hands do not take to handwriting for long periods of time without causing me lots of unwanted pain.

There are also memories or ideas that I just can’t shake loose sometimes too, like the thought of my grandmother’s biscuits and gravy.  I currently have an Urban Fantasy story in the works and biscuits and gravy may be nice, but they really don’t fit in a car chase.  (Not in a serious car chase at any rate.)  So I wrote about them here.  If I ever need to bring to mind a country breakfast cooked on an old cast iron stove, I can glance back at my blog post from a few days ago.

It is good to have some place to write the random down.  I don’t always write it as a blog post.  In fact most of the time I don’t.  But being a writer means having ideas floating around in your head and sometimes they can get in the way.  So, you need to have a place to put them until you need them. It can be in a notebook, journal, scrapbook, three ring binder, or a folder on your computer.  Heck, you can write it down on scraps of napkin and stuff it into a plastic bag if that’s what works.  (A little weird maybe, but if it works I won’t question it….much…)  The point is if you are having trouble writing maybe you need to clear some of the random thoughts away first.6a00d8341c630a53ef013488af5745970c-800wi

2 thoughts on “Writing Random

Leave a Reply

