Old Habits

Victory-TeaThis morning I am tucked away in the corner of a cafe that I used to write in all the time.  I haven’t been here in awhile.  I stopped coming because it was often busy and a little too noisy for my concentration.   Right now it isn’t so bad.  Either the cold wet weather with the promise of snow has kept people away or I have managed to get here early enough to beat the rush.  However, they have also added a “drive thru” since the last time I frequented the place and maybe that has cut down on the crowds.

I am here hoping that different scenery (and tea or coffee that I don’t have to fix myself) tea not warwill help me have a productive writing day. I feel rather sluggish this morning and I have a bit of catching up to do.  I also recently added even more to my plate by offering to work on another project with a friend. (It’s going to take a lot of research.) This particular cafe is one of the few that are open this early.  I could go to Starbucks or something but not if I expect to avoid big crowds.

This place holds good memories.  I often would meet friends here for early morning coffee and conversation.  Back in college, another friend of mine and I would be late to Biology on a regular basis, because we would stop in for a quick cup of hot cocoa in the winter.  Right now those friend are either tucked in their beds, preparing for work, or across the ocean from me.

I don’t think I will fall back into the habit of coming here on a regular basis but everyone once and a while might be nice.teaparty

2 thoughts on “Old Habits

Leave a Reply

