Half awake and posting

Last night I had a dream that I got on a bus. I wasn’t going far, just down town or something but wherever I was at was very dusty, like it hadn’t rained in a while and the road I was standing on was plain soft light brown dirt. It felt like early spring but the large trees lining the road had not bloomed or sprouted leaves yet.
The bus was big and silver and I took a seat in the middle but moved closer toward the flat,550x550,075,ffront after I was harassed by a couple of random high school football players. Then as I was sitting by myself this guy gets on the bus and starts talking to me like he knows me and sits down in the seat next to mine. Then he asks me to look out the window and watch the yellow lines on the edge of the road and let him know if they speed up or appear to slow down. I think he is kind of weird but I do as he asked just so I won’t have to talk to him anymore. And soon the yellow lines do start to speed by faster and then slow down. I turned to tell him but he was gone. Apparently he had gotten off the bus while I was turned around.
I ride a little bit more, before the bus stops and lets someone else on. It’s a boy about twelve but he is the same guy that was sitting next to me earlier. It was then that I suddenly realized that the bus was stuck in some kind of temporal distortion and stopping in various pockets of time and that I was stuck on the bus because if I got off, I didn’t know where or when I would end up. I tried to explain to the kid what was going on and he thought I was kind of crazy. I then realized that was why the guy early had acted like he knew me, because he did. I just hadn’t met him yet even though he had already met me.
f426bafbde61e71cb342b1b257504529_1M.pngThen it hits me that all of these other people on the bus had probably been there a long time. I start looking around at everybody and noticing their clothes all look like they come from different decades. This old lady gets up and walks down the aisle then pauses to look at me. “Well, this is my stop. I’ve been here since the ____ first broke.” Then she winked at me and got off the bus. I don’t remember what she said broke. I think it started with a C. Also when it broke it sounded like the bus had back fired. (I had kind of a flash back through her eyes.)
…..I woke up expecting twilight zone music to be playing. No more reading about the Bermuda triangle before bed.

The dream does have promise.  Maybe a short story or something.  I needed to write it catnapdown and here is where my fingers led me. It seems like my unconscious mind is still cooking up ideas even when the rest of me is out of the equation.  That’s a good thing since lately I have felt like I my body has been trying to get me to hibernate.

Leave a Reply

