Motivation

After nanowrimo I am a little burned out with writing.  That doesn’t mean I am going to catbooksstop, but it is a good excuse to kick back with a stack of books…which I just so happen to have.

I know myself well enough to know that I am a major procrastinator.   As a result, I write like mad under the pressure of a quickly approaching deadline.
tornado However, sometimes I need a little bit more motivation.  This November I needed a lot of motivation because life didn’t even give me a chance to procrastinate.  I was tossed around in a tornado of stress and grief which left little energy for writing my nano novel.

I managed to pull it off, but only because I had been smart enough at the very beginning of the month to buy two new books by two of my favorite authors.  I then gave those books to my sister and told her I was not allowed to have them back until I had my word count caught up.
She took the books home with her and guaranteed that I would never see the books again Nick_Fury_Avengersif I didn’t manage my word count.  It was sort of a hostage situation. (It would have been easier to get them back from Nick Fury than Sarah. Trust me.  Fury at least lacks depth perception.)

129161051317775306I had paid full price at the local book store for those two shiny brand new books.  I hadn’t even read the first page on either one.  It was awful to think that I might never get to read them.  So I got caught up.  It took until November 30th, but I did it.

Sometimes you have to give yourself that extra little bit of motivation.  It can be a reward or a threat.  It can be both.  Whatever works to keep the words coming.

Gaiman-motivational-poster-sm

 

One thought on “Motivation

Leave a Reply

