On the eighth day of Nano my muse said to me…something I can’t repeat in polite company

So today is the eighth day of National Novel Writing Month. I am attempting a fantasy novel this year.  I would be writing this book regardless but I thought Nanowrimo would help me get it done faster.  (For some reason this makes me feel like I am cheating.) I am still near the beginning of the book and haven’t given in to desperation yet, so we will see how coherent this first draft turns out to be by the end.  (I am also way behind on my word count and will have to write like crazy to get caught up.)

So far, things are going according to plan. Unfortunately, I am also getting to the part where the plan is becoming a little fuzzy around the edges.  This morning I was contemplating today’s worth of writing, trying to figure out if I should give the main character memory loss, and figure out what comes next.  All I ended up doing was starring into space with  my last two scenes replaying over and over in my head.  Then I started mentally talking to myself.

It went something like this:

Okay, so she is still unconscious…maybe I should look up what that much head trauma does to a person

yeah but don’t get too carried away. It is a fiction book after all.  She’s gonna have to wake up sometime, probably earlier than if she were a real person

I know, I know. It’s a fantasy novel. They can heal her with magic or something….

Who can?

I don’t know, some old wise woman or something.

Where does the woman come from?

Look, it doesn’t matter right now okay?  I need to figure out what to do with the guy who’s dad just got killed and who’s brother is on his death bed

Man his life sucks…though the dead dad could come back as a zombie…

This isn’t a zombie book.  And I need to make up someone to deliver some important info to him.

A ninja.

What?

Ninja are good at delivering information.

…I’m gonna go make a cup of tea….

 

And that is about how my morning contemplation of my story went.  I’m not loosing it, honest.  I’m just not caffeinated enough to plot at the moment.

 

 

2 thoughts on “On the eighth day of Nano my muse said to me…something I can’t repeat in polite company

Leave a Reply

