It is a very brisk morning, though since I’ve been up since five, it feels almost like lunch time to me.  I am still having trouble with my sinuses (who hate me).  The fact that we took in a stray kitten not long ago probably isn’t helping matters any.  That makes two cats in the house, even though one refuses to stay inside all the time.

I hate being cold but I turned off the heat and opened most of the windows in the house to let it air out some.  Soon it will be way too cold to do so. Also it gives me a good excuse to wear my comfy thick red sweater. Between my sweater and a hot cup of tea I am comfortable enough.I just wish my head would clear and let me think.

NaNoWriMo starts in a couple of days and I’ve been planning a post about it.  I am participating again this year mostly just because it is a lot of fun.  I know a lot of people scoff and roll their eyes at NaNo and many more out right hate it.  This confused me for a long time because I see NaNoWriMo as a game and if you don’t like a game you don’t have to play right?

Well, then I found out some of the reasons why people don’t like it.  Of course you have your snobs. They are everywhere in life. (Even I am a snob about somethings.)  But then you have those writers that try really hard all year to get their best work done and sent out to publishers.  It goes into the slush pile and eventually, maybe, somebody will read it.
The chances of that go down when you factor in NaNoWriMo, because suddenly you have hundreds of would be writers writing these books.  Honestly, a good portion of them are going to be plan awful.  (My first one certainly was.)

These people are excited because they wrote a book. (As they should be.)  And so they send it off.  The problem is they don’t think or ask questions before they do.  There is a lot more that goes into a book besides just the writing part. Editing is a process, and it must be done before you send your stuff out.  I was horrified at the thought of all the mountains of manuscripts that must flood into publishers in December.  My first thought was why would people do that? The answer is, Because they don’t really know better or because they are so certain that their work is special it won’t matter.

It’s like a kid drawing a picture.  It may be the best picture they’ve ever drawn, but up against Monet it’s nothing.  To them it is amazing and everyone needs to see it.  Family and friends pat them on the head and tell them what a good job they’ve done.  That doesn’t mean they should buy an art studio.  This is where an unbiased second opinion comes in handy…if people listen to it.

*sigh*  I am sick and I am rambling.  There are lots of good things about National Novel Writing Month.  I think it is fun and so I will participate this year. I hope others will too. However, I also hope before people start flooding publishers (indie and other wise) with their NaNo-novels that they will take the time to let the manuscript simmer for a month or so before dragging it back out for another look.  Then I hope they at the very least ask themselves, How can I make this better? 

 

Leave a Reply

