Cereal after midnight

It is almost two in the morning and I am awake and sitting at my computer with a large bowl of fruit loops.  (Yes sometimes I wonder if there is a connection between my mental state and my food of choice.)   I don’t want to be awake and I am rather grumpy about the fact that I am.

The problem is I am not feeling well.  I took a walk in the woods today after I ran a bunch of errands. The trees were beautiful and I enjoyed the quiet time. I even wrote a new short poem.  However I am now paying the price for my stroll through nature.

My head hurts, my face it puffy, and my sinuses hate me.  What I don’t understand is why.  Yeah, I know, pollen and everything right?  But when I was a kid I never had problems like this.  We lived in the middle of nowhere with nothing but trees on two sides, a creek on one, and a field on the other.  I practically lived in the woods as a kid.  When my mom wanted to call me in for dinner she stepped outside and looked up, because more often than not I would be sitting in one of the trees in the front yard.

I know things change as you get older. I realize this even applies to immune systems. But I don’t have to be happy about it.

2 thoughts on “Cereal after midnight

  1. I never had allergies until my late 30s. Talk about a serious smack in the face. Grey hair, wrinkles (which I actually don’t mind) and an ongoing, drippy nose. Maybe that’s why I can’t get a date. 😉

  2. Believe me I understand. It really isn’t fair to have it all sneak up on you at once. Fortunately my few grey hairs are somewhere on the back of my skull, or so I’ve been told. I can’t see them so I pretend they don’t exist. lol

Leave a Reply

