Disney movies and writing

I took my kids to see Disney on Ice yesterday.  I had won tickets from a radio call in show. (Yes those things really are real. I didn’t believe it either.)  We had a good time although I think I spent more on snacks, drinks, and trinkets than I would have on the tickets.

They put on a good show. It was rather impressive. However, right in the middle of the Lion King bit my fingers itched for a pen and a piece of paper, which for once I did not have.  Watching Scar sing Be Prepared, (yes, hahaha I know) gave me an epiphany.  Scar is my absolute favorite Disney bad guy.

My writing brain took over then and started ask questions. Why?  What made me think he was so awesome?  The fact that he orchestrated the death of his own brother? The way he moved?  His voice?  (Actually a large part of it was the voice.)

Then I started questioning my own villains.  Where did they add up next to Scar?  How could I make them better?  How were they better or worse?

I think I missed a good ten minutes of the show caught up in my own thoughts before I was able to pull myself away.  I firmly tucked the idea aside for later contemplation (when I’d have writing utensils available) and enjoyed the rest of the performance.

The only other “bad guys” to appear were Captain Hook (though part of me wants to say the crocodile is the real bad guy there) and The Queen of Hearts.  I don’t really count either one of those as very “bad”.  The are certainly the antagonists, which is a thought that leads to even more pondering.  Antagonists vs. Villains, which one is better for my story?  Hmmm…..*Wanders away to think and jot down notes*

2 thoughts on “Disney movies and writing

  1. Scar is one of my favorites, too. When I vacationed in Orlando a couple of years ago, I found a “button” you push that plays Scar saying “I’m surrounded by idiots.” I never fail to delight in Jeremy Irons’ perfect reading of the line. Sometimes villains and antagonists articulate the frustrations we have with the world, which is something heroes (especially in a Disney film) don’t do.

Leave a Reply

