Yes I am a dork

So this weekend I will only be getting writing done in the early morning (which is when I write best anyway) because I am currently at an Anime convention with a bunch of friends.  Yes, I am a serious Scifi and Fantasy writer and yes I dress up as Japanese Animated characters one weekend a year.

I don’t believe in taking myself too seriously.  I think enjoying the fun things in life is important.  For me, putting on a purple wig and a white coat followed by getting my picture taken while I pose with a bunch of costumed strangers is fun.

If you want to give it a writing spin then walking around in a costume and pretending to be someone else gives me practice thinking like other people, which is helpful with characters.  Also, I write scifi and fantasy.  A lot of Anime fans read scifi and fantasy.  I am rubbing elbows with my readers right now.   Conventions are good for this.  I brought business cards with me, just in case. 🙂

Leave a Reply

