Allergies and Moonlight

I woke up before dawn this morning, made myself a cup of green tea, and sat on the porch steps.  I would like to say it was to enjoy the quiet peace before dawn awakens the world. That I took deep breaths of the pre-morning air and was inspired by all the possibilities that would be revealed by the coming sun.

Unfortunately, that was not the case.  Did I enjoy gazing at the mostly round moon floating in the slowly lightening sky?  Oh yes.  Did I scribble down some notes on how the clouds looked as they tried to mask the moonlight?  You betcha.  However, that was not the reason I got up so early.

I have allergies. I don’t know what is blooming or why it hates me but something out there is really kicking me in the sinuses.  My head weighs three times it’s normal amount, my eyes are itchy, my nose is runny…you get the idea.  I have taken antihistamines but I am still miserable.  Thinking takes too much effort.

I want to write.  I want to take my notes from this morning and turn them into an opening for a new story.  But my brain coughs a congested laugh at me every time I try, then rolls over and goes back to sleep.  *frustrated sigh*

3 thoughts on “Allergies and Moonlight

  1. I am so sorry about your allergies kickin your backside. My children’s father had severe allergies and my heart just went out to him. He was just so miserable. I think that’s why I now have multiple boxes of open kleenex all over my house now. I never grew up using kleenex and I was asking myself the other day why I always have so much kleenex around. I think you answered my question. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

