A Writer’s Presence

This weekend I met a collection of writers, each one as different as the stories they create. Stephine Osborn, John Hartness, Scott W. Baker, Tamara A. Lowery, Charlotte Henley Babb, John Ringo, Lee Martindale, Janet and Chris Morris, Timothy Zahn, Eric Flint, Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle, and Brandon Sanderson were just some of the people I met.  Some of these authors I talked to more than others and some I only went to the panels they hosted.

One thing was the same about all of these individual writers.  I noticed it didn’t matter if they were self published, published by small print, or one of the big six; every single one of these people had a presence.  They were writers.  They knew without a sliver of a doubt that they were writers.  They knew their work and they had faith in their work.

I learned just by watching these people that you have to believe in what you do. You have to wholeheartedly trust that your work is deserving to be read.  To be able to do that you have to do your absolute best.  It doesn’t have to be your best the first time you write it but it better be by the last time, otherwise it isn’t worthy.  To again quote Janet Morris, “Our time is finite. Write the best book you can now.”

All of these authors are available at http://www.amazon.com/

2 thoughts on “A Writer’s Presence

  1. Hi, hon. I most certainly remember you. I hope was able (and will continue to be able, because I plan to keep up with you!) to help. (btw – I like tea, too!) I am about to begin a blog series myself about “things they don’t teach in ‘writer’s school'” in which you might be interested. And I learned something myself recently. I get writer’s block more often than I’d like to admit. I learned that I usually get stuck on the details. On the first draft, IGNORE THE DETAILS YOU GET STUCK ON. Just keep writing the main story. If you have to write, “John Doe does xxx” and then keep writing, DO IT. You can finish the book in the main and go back and fill in details later. And sometimes that means said details will be better than they might otherwise have been, because you can tailor them to the ending, to be foreshadowing, or symbolic, or whatever. My blog is here, http://stephanie-osborn.blogspot.com/ for you to read the upcoming series of writing advice. Let me know what you think; feel free to leave comments. Far too few of my readers think they would be annoying or something if they left comments, when in fact I look forward to the interchange!
    Good luck, Godspeed, and keep in touch!

    1. Thank you! I actually did something like that in the book I am currently writing. I forgot the name of one of the bad guys and put in “whats-his-face”. My sister-in-law read over part of the rough draft and was very amused.
      I look forward to your advice.

Leave a Reply

