Cutting out early to write

I left the convention festivities early today to work on my book. I learned so much that I couldn’t wait to apply my newly gained knowledge.  Several of the things I heard should solve most of the problems I’ve had with my writing. ( I think I could write a dozen posts just on the panels I went to.)

Two authors were particularly kind. (Especially since I basically cornered them and started asking questions.)  Stephanie Osborn, www.stephanie-osborn.com , answered many questions about her writing process and gave me a boost of encouragement.  I also happened to win an autographed poster picturing the cover of her new book.  (It is now hanging on my wall.)

John Hartness, www.johnhartness.com , was also incredibly helpful regarding publishing and promotion.  I interrogated, I courteously asked him everything about self publishing and marketing that I could think of.  He was an informative voice at two of the panels I attended as well.

Over all it was a good day.  I am in need of a nap, but it was still a good day. I took a bunch of notes, which I will probably be sharing bits of for the next few days.  However, one thing said at a panel by author/publisher Janet Morris sticks out in my mind at the moment.  She was talking about how we only live for so long and only have so much time to accomplish the things we want to do.  She said: “Our time is finite. Write the best book you can now.”

6 thoughts on “Cutting out early to write

Leave a Reply

