The Next Page

Sometimes just getting to the next page seems like an insurmountable task.  You kind of know what you want to happen but you need something to connect what you have with what you want next and the words just aren’t coming. Sometimes I just leave myself a note and go on.  However, this leaves a gap that must be filled later.

That is what I am actually dealing with right now.  I wrote a book and now I have to go through and fill in all the places I glazed over or just plan left out.  Then I will have to edit again. And again. And again.

This is the part of writing that I don’t like. This is where I get discouraged. This is when I reach out to other writers.  I am fortunate enough to have a friend who also writes and goes through all of these creative roller coasters too.  It’s nice to know I am not the only one who loves and yet despises what they are doing but can’t stop.

Writing can be a very solitary thing. In those quite moments while your sitting by yourself and the words aren’t coming peaceably it can be easy to give in to despair. Don’t. You can do it. You can write that next page. (Even if it feels like the trip to Mount Doom was easier that what you are doing.) You’re not alone.  All writers feel like this every now and then. If they say they don’t then they are either lying or not stretching themselves in their writing.  Because honestly that is all those feelings of doubt and despair are, the burn of stretching muscles. If you stop now it will only feel worse tomorrow.

Here are some quotes from other writers that have muscled through:

“Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout with some painful illness. One would never undertake such a thing if one were not driven on by some demon whom one can neither resist nor understand.”
George Orwell

“…there would be punishment and pain, and there would be happiness, too. That was writing.”
Markus Zusak

“If you write books, you go on one page at a time. We turn from all we know and all we fear. We study catalogues, watch football games, choose Sprint over AT&T. We count the birds in the sky and will not turn from the window when we hear the footsteps behind as something comes up the hall; we say yes, I agree that clouds often look like other things – fish and unicorns and men on horseback – but they are really only clouds. Even when the lightning flashes inside them we say they are only clouds and turn our attention to the next meal, the next pain, the next breath, the next page.
This is how we go on.”
Stephen King

“Who Am I?
I’m a creator, a visionary, a poet. I approach the world with the eyes of an artist, the ears of a musician, and the soul of a writer. I see rainbows where others see only rain, and possibilities when others see only problems. I love spring flowers, summer’s heat on my body, and the beauty of the dying leaves in the fall. Classical music, art museums, and ballet are sources of inspiration, as well as blues music and dim cafes. I love to write; words flow easily from my fingertips, and my heart beats rapidly with excitement as an idea becomes a reality on the paper in front of me. I smile often, laugh easily, and I weep at pain and cruelty. I’m a learner and a seeker of knowledge, and I try to take my readers along on my journey. I am passionate about what I do. I learned to dream through reading, learned to create dreams through writing, and learned to develop dreamers through teaching. I shall always be a dreamer. Come dream with me.”
Sharon M. Draper

“I don’t know if proud is the right word, but I am somebody who does not, on the whole, have the highest regard for my own stuff in that when I look all I get to see are the flaws.”
Neil Gaiman

“Go where the pleasure is in your writing. Go where the pain is. Write the book you would like to read. Write the book you have been trying to find but have not found. But write. And remember, there are no rules for our profession. Ignore rules. Ignore what I say here if it doesn’t help you. Do it your own way. Every writer knows fear and discouragement. Just write.The world is crying for new writing. It is crying for fresh and original voices and new characters and new stories. If you won’t write the classics of tomorrow, well, we will not have any.”
Anne Rice
Leave a Reply

